Tel 01384 818265

Our classes

An overview

Woodsetton supports pupils with moderate and complex learning difficulties from Reception (4 - 5 year olds) to Year 6 (11 year olds). Pupils join us at different stages of their primary schooling and quickly settle into Woodsetton life.

Each class is named after a woodland creature and pupils are grouped according to need and stage of their learning and development. Individual EHC plans are used to inform provision and outcomes.

At Woodsetton there are 3 pathways. Each pathway covers skills, knowledge and understanding across a range of areas of learning, and they are blended together, so as to facilitate a ‘learning flow’ between the three.

Pathway 1 - this pathway has 2 strands. Within the pathway the children are working within the areas of the EYFS (Caterpillars & Badgers) and Engagement model (Hedgehogs, Woodpeckers & Ladybirds). There is a focus on establishing routines and supporting children with their communication and interaction skills; and developing a confidence to learn through exploration, realisation, anticipation, resilience and initiation.

Pathway 2 - within this pathway (Bees, Frogs & Owls) the children are beginning to apply their skills and learning within the wider world around them. The curriculum is based on working below KS1 age related expectations (DAPA S Levels 4-8).

Pathway 3 – within this pathway (Squirrels & Butterflies) the children are from KS2, working towards KS1 and KS2 National Curriculum age related expectations. These children are developing skills to become independent learners to transfer skills across different areas of the curriculum.

On each class page you can find updated information about your child's class - what they are learning about, what they will be doing on each day, special visits etc. If you think there is anything missing that you would like to know more about, please let us know so that we can support you.

Hear what our children say...

“My favourite book is The BFG. The author is Roald Dahl. In the book I like Sophie because she has orange hair and orange is one of my favourite colours.”

A pupil in Butterflies

“At school I like enrichment on Fridays. So far this year I have done dancing, painting and books and films.”

A pupil in Squirrels

You may also be looking for...